slider bottom background

Housing Discrimination

How do you recognize Housing Discrimination?

Under the Fair Housing Act, it is against the law to:

  • Refuse to rent you or sell you housing
  • Tell you housing is unavailable when in fact it is available
  • Show you apartments or homes in certain neighborhoods only
  • Advertise housing to preferred groups of people only
  • Refuse to provide you with information regarding mortgage loans, deny you a mortgage loan, or impose difference conditions on a mortgage loan
  • Deny you property insurance
  • Conduct property appraisals in a discriminatory manner
  • Refuse to make certain modifications or accommodations for person with a metal or physical disability, including persons recovering from alcohol and substance abuse and HIV/AIDS-related illnesses
  • Fail to design and construct housing in an accessible manner
  • Harass, coerce, intimidate, or interfere with anyone exercising or assisting someone else with their fair housing rights

Based on these factors:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status (families with children under the age of 18 or who are expecting a child), or
  • Handicap (if you or someone close to you has a disability

This information is provided as a public service by the City of Augusta, Kansas in an effort to ensure fair housing for all.  Learn more about the Fair Housing Act and housing discrimination.

Complaint Hotline

If you believe you have
been discriminated
against, please contact
the HUD Housing

LGBTQ - Housing Rights

Learn more from HUD about housing discrimination based on sexual orientation.